Old Mutual Educational Trust Scholarships
Sasbo has been admitted to the Old Mutual educational trust that promotes tertiary education by providing scholarships for worthy causes.  The scholarship provides funding to study on a full time, part time or on a distance basis, for a first time undergraduate degree or diploma (including BTech) at an accredited Higher Education Institution.


You may apply only if you are:

– A member or staff member of one of the participating trade unions.
– A child of a member or staff member, and are under the age of 25.
– A grandchild or other child blood relation of the member or staff member, and   are under the age of 25, and are solely financially dependent on the member.

The scholarship covers:

– Registration and tuition fees.
– Prescribed books and other approved study materials.
– Accommodation and meals in a residence administered by the Higher Education Institution for students studying on a full time basis.

The scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic ability and the financial needs of the applicants. The Board of Trustees can consider any other relevant factors in making the final decision in granting the scholarships. The Trust reserves the right to adjust or withdraw any scholarship amount that may be awarded in terms of the application, should the applicant be a beneficiary of other finance assistance (e.g. bursary, grants, loans, scholarships, award, etc.)

Successful candidates will be required to participate in doing vacation work for a two-week period during the end-of academic-year break. This work must be in line with the course being studied.  The scholarship does not have to be paid back.

The courses covered are:

– Agricultural Studies
– Architectural and Environmental Studies
– Biological, Physical and Chemical Sciences
– Business, Commerce and Management Sciences/Studies
– Communication
– Computer Science and Data Processing
– Education – including Advanced Certificate in Education (ACE)
– Engineering and Engineering Technology
– Health Care and Health Sciences
– Industrial Arts, Trade and Technology
– Law
– Mathematical Sciences

At which institutions can you study if you are awarded a scholarship?

University of South Africa (Unisa)

Eastern Cape:

Walter Sisulu University for Technology and Science
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
University of Fort Hare
Rhodes University

Free State:

Central University of Technology
University of the Free State


Tshwane University of Technology
University of Johannesburg
University of Pretoria
University of the Witwatersrand
Vaal University of Technology


Durban University of Technology
University of KwaZulu-Natal
University of Zululand
Mangosuthu University of Technology


University of Limpopo
University of Venda


National Institute for Higher Education

Northern Cape:

National Institute for Higher Education

North West:

North West University

Western Cape:

Cape Peninsula University of Technology
University of Cape Town
University of Stellenbosch
University of the Western Cape